February 5, 2024

Trio of draft eligibles nominated as NCAA rookie of the year

Three members of the 2024 NHL Draft class are amongst a watch list of 33 first-year NCAA men’s hockey players for the Tim Taylor Award as rookie of the year.

Artyom Levshunov of Michigan State in Big10, Macklin Celebrini of Boston University in Hockey East, and Zeev Buium of Denver in the NCHC have been nominated for the Tim Taylor Award, as voted on by the nation’s assistant coaches.

Levshunov, a defenseman slotted No. 9 in FCHockey’s Midterm ranking for the 2024 draft, had 26 points (seven goals, 19 assists) and led the country with a plus-24 ranking at the time of his nomination.

Celebrini, the youngest player in the NCAA this season, had 35 points (18 goals, 17 assists) in 22 games. The forward is the consensus No. 1 pick in the 2024 draft class.

Buium, a defenseman ranked No. 8 at FCHockey, had 33 points (seven goals, 26 assists) in 24 games at time of nomination. He is the top scoring blueliner in the nation.

A ballot consisting of each Division I conference’s Rookie of the Year will be presented to the assistant coaches and they will vote on the winner at season’s end. The winner of the Tim Taylor Award as NCAA rookie of the year will be announced during April’s Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minn.

Each has also been nominated for the Hobey Baker Award as the top player in NCAA Division I hockey. In addition to on-ice accomplishments, award criteria includes candidates exhibiting the exceptional character traits shown by the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker, as well as scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

More Stories

April 12, 2024

Celebrini nets Hobey Baker, becomes fourth freshman to score honor

April 8, 2024

Landon DuPont has been granted exceptional status into WHL

April 5, 2024

Kieron Walton has potential to be one of the 2024 draft’s top steals

Get insider content and scouting reports you can’t find anywhere else.

Sign up now