December 19, 2018

CJHL names Top Prospects Game roster

Canada’s top draft eligible Junior A talent will hit the ice in Alberta.

The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday the players set to participate in the CJHL Prospects Game on Jan. 22, 2019 at Pason Centennial Arena in Okotoks, AB, home of the Okotoks Oilers.

Players selected to participate were done so via NHL Central Scouting.

The list includes Alex Newhook, 26th in Future Considerations’ Fall ranking for the 2019 NHL Draft. Newhook has 53 points (18 goals, 35 assists) in 31 games with Victoria of the British Columbia Hockey League, and had four assists in six games for Canada West at the 2018 World Junior A Challenge in early December.

Massimo Rizzo, ranked 53rd, was also named to the game. Rizzo, captain of Penticton in the BCHL, has 16 points (three goals, 13 assists) in 15 games.

Team East

Goaltenders: Gabriel Carriere (Kanata, CCHL); Mitchell Weeks (Newmarket, OJHL).

Defensemen: Noah Beck (St. Michael’s, OJHL); Dakota Betts (Whitby, OJHL), David Lafrance (Rockland, CCHL), Simon Mack (Brockville, CCHL), Michael Palandra (Aurora, OJHL), Zachary Uens (Wellington, OJHL).

Forwards: John Beaton (Kemptville, CCHL), Eric Ciccolini (Toronto, OJHL), Carl-Olivier Dignard (Valleyfield, LHJAAQ), Jamie Engelbert (Cobourg, OJHL), Ty Glover (Buffalo, OJHL), Spencer Kersten (Oakville, OJHL), Kosta Manikis (Stouffville, OJHL), Brodie McDougall (Coburg, OJHL), Ryan O’Hara (Oakville, OJHL), Ryan Richardson (Smiths Falls, CCHL), Cameron Roberts (Summerside, MHL), Derek Seguin (Timmins, NOJHL).

Team West

Goaltenders: Matthew Davis (Spruce Grove, AJHL), Carter Gylander (Sherwood Park, AJHL).

Defensemen: Layton Ahac (Prince George, BCHL), Luke Bast (Brooks, AJHL), Jeremie Bucheler (Victoria, BCHL), Chase Felgueiras (Humboldt, SJHL), Jack Judson (Vernon, BCHL), Mason Snell (Penticton, BCHL).

Forwards: Kyle Bettens (Steinbach, MJHL), Harrison Blaisdell (Chilliwack, BCHL), Alexander Campbell (Victoria, BCHL), Reilly Funk (Portage, MJHL), Keighan Gerrie (Thunder Bay, SIJHL), Dylan Holloway (Okotoks, AJHL), Ethan Leyh (Langley, BCHL), Alex Newhook (Victoria, BCHL), Zachary Okabe (Grande Prairie, AJHL), Massimo Rizzo (Penticton, BCHL), Alex Swetlikoff (Vernon, BCHL), Kevin Wall (Chilliwack, BCHL).

More Stories

September 17, 2020

Overagers: Small Simoneau big on talent

September 16, 2020

Pre-2020 NHL Draft Scout Survey – V1

September 11, 2020

Building the 2020 NHL Draft’s best prospect

Get insider content and scouting reports you can’t find anywhere else.

Sign up now