December 16, 2019

CHL names 2020 Top Prospects Game invites

The Canadian Hockey League, in association with NHL Central Scouting, announced Monday the 40 players invited to compete in the 2020 CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game.

The CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game takes place on Thursday January 16, 2020, and is hosted by the Hamilton Bulldogs. The 40 players selected were chosen by NHL clubs from across the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Western Hockey League (WHL), and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL).

Alexis Lafreniere and Quinton Byfield, the consensus top two picks in the 2020 NHL Draft, were each named to the roster.

In all, five players selected in the top-10 and 19 players slotted inside the first round of Future Considerations’ fall ranking for the 2020 draft were invited to participate.

Roster updated as of Dec. 18, 2019

Goaltenders: Nico Daws (Guelph Storm); Dylan Garand (Kamloops Blazers); Brock Gould (Victoria Royals); Samuel Hlavaj (Sherbrooke Phoenix).

Defensemen: Lukas Cormier* (Charlottetown Islanders); Jamie Drysdale* (Erie Otters); Kaiden Guhle (Prince Albert Raiders); Thimo Nickl (Drummondville Voltigeurs); Ryan O’Rourke (Soo Greyhounds); Jeremie Poirier* (Saint John Sea Dogs); Luke Prokop (Calgary Hitmen) ^; Kasper Puutio (Swift Current Broncos)^; Braden Schneider* (Brandon Wheat Kings); Donovan Sebrango (Kitchener Rangers); Christoffer Sedoff (Red Deer Rebels); Jack Thompson (Sudbury Wolves).

Forwards: Mavrik Bourque* (Shawinigan Cataractes); Quinton Byfield* (Sudbury Wolves); Brandon Coe (North Bay Battalion); Will Cuylle* (Windsor Spitfires); Luke Evangelista^ (London Knights); Jack Finley (Spokane Chiefs); Tyson Foerster (Barrie Colts); Jean-Luc Foudy* (Windsor Spitfires); Ryan Francis (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles); Ridly Greig (Brandon Wheat Kings); Seth Jarvis (Portland Winterhawks); Alexis Lafreniere* (Rimouski Oceanic); Dawson Mercer* (Drummondville Voltigeurs); Jake Neighbours (Edmonton Oil Kings); Cole Perfetti* (Saginaw Spirit); Jacob Perreault* (Sarnia Sting); Vasiliy Ponomarev (Shawinigan Cataractes); Jaromir Pytlik* (Soo Greyhounds); Jack Quinn (Ottawa 67’s); Marco Rossi* (Ottawa 67’s); Justin Sourdif* (Vancouver Giants); Antonio Stranges* (London Knights); Ozzy Wiesblatt (Prince Albert Raiders); Connor Zary* (Kamloops Blazers).

*denotes player ranked in the first round.
^denotes player added to TPG roster.

Unable to participate because of injury: Justin Barron, D (Halifax Mooseheads); Daemon Hunt, D (Moose Jaw Warriors), Hendrix Lapierre, F (Chicoutimi Sagueneens); Oliver Suni, F (Oshawa Generals)

More Stories

April 12, 2024

Celebrini nets Hobey Baker, becomes fourth freshman to score honor

April 8, 2024

Landon DuPont has been granted exceptional status into WHL

April 5, 2024

Kieron Walton has potential to be one of the 2024 draft’s top steals

Get insider content and scouting reports you can’t find anywhere else.

Sign up now