December 13, 2018

CHL Announces Top Prospects Game Roster

The top NHL Draft eligible talent from the Canadian Hockey League will be on display in Red Deer.

The Canadian Hockey League, in association with National Hockey League Central Scouting, announced Thursday the 40 players that will compete in the 2019 CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game.

The CHL Top Prospects Game will take place on Jan. 23, 2019 in Red Deer, AB, home of the Western Hockey League’s Red Deer Rebels. The event, in its 24th year, has featured 14 players selected with the first overall pick in the NHL Draft, including Nico Hischier, Connor McDavid, Aaron Ekblad, Nathan MacKinnon, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Taylor Hall, John Tavares, Steven Stamkos, Patrick Kane, Marc-Andre Fleury, Rick Nash, Vincent Lecavalier, Joe Thornton, and Chris Phillips.

Fourteen players ranked within the first round of Future Considerations’ Fall ranking for the 2019 NHL Draft will be present in the game.

Goaltenders: Colten Ellis (Rimouski Océanic), Taylor Gauthier (Prince George Cougars), Hunter Jones (Peterborough Petes), Mads Sogaard (Medicine Hat Tigers).

Defensemen: Samuel Bolduc (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada), Bowen Byram (Vancouver Giants), Billy Constantinou (Kingston Frontenacs), Thomas Harley (Mississauga Steelheads), Artemi Knyazev (Chicoutimi Saguenéens), Vladislav Kolyachonok (Flint Firebirds), Kaedan Korczak (Kelowna Rockets), Jake Lee (Seattle Thunderbirds), Nikita Okhotyuk (Ottawa 67’s), Matthew Robertson (Edmonton Oil Kings), Lassi Thomson (Kelowna Rockets), Michael Vukojevic (Kitchener Rangers).

Forwards: Nikita Alexandrov (Charlottetown Islanders), Maxim Cajkovic (Saint John Sea Dogs), Joe Carroll (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds), Graeme Clarke (Ottawa 67’s), Dylan Cozens (Lethbridge Hurricanes), Kirby Dach (Saskatoon Blades), Nolan Foote (Kelowna Rockets), Matvey Guskov (London Knights), Arthur Kaliyev (Hamilton Bulldogs), Peyton Krebs (Kootenay ICE), Raphaël Lavoie (Halifax Mooseheads), Brett Leason (Prince Albert Raiders), Nathan Légaré (Baie-Comeau Drakkar), Connor McMichael (London Knights), Sasha Mutala (Tri-City Americans), Valentin Nussbaumer (Shawinigan Cataractes), Jakob Pelletier (Moncton Wildcats), Samuel Poulin (Sherbrooke Phoenix), Jamieson Rees (Sarnia Sting), Nicholas Robertson (Peterborough Petes), Ryan Suzuki (Barrie Colts), Philip Tomasino (Niagara IceDogs), Josh Williams (Medicine Hat Tigers), Oleg Zaytsev (Red Deer Rebels).

-Nussbaumer will place in place of Dillon Hamaliuk (Seattle Thunderbirds), who is unable to participate because of injury.

Roster updated to January 8, 2019

More Stories

May 17, 2024

How Dickinson and Parekh compare against each other in the 2024 draft class

May 15, 2024

Spencer Gill is one of the 2024 NHL Draft’s late risers

May 11, 2024

Post-lottery mock for the 2024 NHL Draft

Get insider content and scouting reports you can’t find anywhere else.

Sign up now