November 17, 2022

Sam Rinzel leads Team USA into 2022 World Junior A Challenge

Sam Rinzel will lead Team USA into the World Junior A Challenge.

Rinzel, the No. 15 pick in the 2022 NHL Draft of the Chicago Blackhawks, was among the first 21 players announced that will represent their team at the 2022 tournament, that taking place from December 11-18, 2022 in Cornwall, Ontario. The 18-year-old defenseman has posted seven points (one goal, six assists) in 13 games for the Waterloo Black Hawks of the USHL this season and will be an integral part on the blue line for the American squad.

Other notable players from the 2022 NHL Draft representing Team USA from the USHL include:

Quinn Finley – Madison Capitols – Round 3, 78th overall New York Islanders
Garret Brown – Sioux City Musketeers – Round 4, 99th overall Winnipeg Jets
Alex Bump – Omaha Lancers – Round 5, 133rd overall Philadelphia Flyers
Jake Richard – Muskegon Lumberjacks – Round 6, 170th overall Buffalo Sabres

The Americans will also be well represented with 2023 NHL Draft prospects Jacob Fowler and Andrew Strathmann of the Youngstown Phantoms, Gavin McCarthy of the Muskegon Lumberjacks, Tanner Adams of the Tri-City Storm, and Tanner Ludtke of the Lincoln Stars. Both Strathmann and Adams received B-ratings from NHL Central Scouting’s Preliminary Players to Watch List, designating them as potential second-to-third round picks in the 2023 draft.

Team USA has the record for most golds at this challenge with eight. Their last came back in 2018. The Americans returned bronze in 2019, the last time the tournament was held prior to being shut down owing to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The full roster includes:

Goaltenders: Jacob Fowler (Youngstown), Christian Manz (Chicago).

Defensemen: Garret Brown (Sioux City), Jake Livanavage (Chicago), Nathan McBrayer (Muskegon), Gavin McCarthy (Muskegon), Joe Palodichuk (Fargo), Sam Rinzel (Waterloo), Andrew Strathmann (Youngstown).

Forwards: Tanner Adams (Tri-City), Alex Bump (Omaha), Quinn Finley (Madison), Maddox Fleming (Sioux Falls), Sam Harris (Sioux Falls), Cole Knuble (Fargo), Gavin Lindberg (Waterloo), Tanner Ludtke (Lincoln), Jake Richard (Muskegon), Garrett Schifsky (Waterloo), Ryan St. Louis (Dubuque), Ethan Whitcomb (Muskegon).

More Stories

April 12, 2024

Celebrini nets Hobey Baker, becomes fourth freshman to score honor

April 8, 2024

Landon DuPont has been granted exceptional status into WHL

April 4, 2024

Macklin Celebrini named as 2024 Hobey Hat Trick finalist

Get insider content and scouting reports you can’t find anywhere else.

Sign up now